Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2nd ball mis-scoring

Ok fellas, I'm a rookie, and I am learning on the fly with our scoring. We have brunswick factory A-2s, with Accuscore scoring. I'm using a Zot Time Delay-plus, without any extra add-on's from Zot. We do have some form of infrared auto-triggering, I'm not familiar with the brand name. The problem I am having with one particular lane is on 2nd ball, and only with slow/light balls. IF, and only IF, the ball doesn't hit the pit-cushion, a spare is scored. If the ball hits the cushion, the scoring is correct. I have tried adjusting the delay, and also played with the camera switches on top of the rake shaft. I am running out of ideas, and its to the point now where I'm frustrated, maybe someone has seen this before? Thanks in advance if you can help me.
    -Jon Ellerhorst
    PBA member since 2001, laneman (Phoenix-S), pinsetter mechanic (A-2) and pro-shop (Innovate mill-drill plus) owner/operator. Hopefully I can eliminate two of those titles in the next year. Can you guess which ones?

Re: 2nd ball mis-scoring

Since you only have a problem when the ball doesn't trigger the machine, I'd say the problem lies with the infrared triggering and my guess is that the camera is seeing the rake when it tries to read the pins (no pins = spare). Normally the tower switches on the rake shaft allow a delay to give the rake time to drop before the camera reads the pins (approx 1.2 seconds). But the auto triggering may somehow affect the timing. Try a simple experiment: Disconnect the motor on 2nd ball and roll a ball through the triggering to see if no rake drop makes a difference.

As a side note, I used to check my time delay modules by cycling the machines up front several times. If the scorer scored any pins, the time delay needed to be checked. (Usually it's the corner pins nearest the camera that get missed first).

Comment