Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brunswick A2 Scoring/ Ball Detect Problem Please Help!!

Collapse

Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brunswick A2 Scoring/ Ball Detect Problem Please Help!!

So recently I had a pair of lanes stop scoring. I did the usual stuff like reboot, clear n/v, etc.. I replaced all my boards in the lane tower. Mother board, I/O board, video cards, nothing worked. I replaced my scorer board above the machine along with the pinsetter I/O board. Nothing. Also my ball detect lights are staying on. I tried adjusting but they never go off. Even if i stick a reflector right up to it. It's a mess. I've only been doing this about 5 years. This is my first time dealing with something like this, so I know I am probably over looking something. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Sounds like the ball detector. The detector uses a transmitter and a receiver that shoot the light out back in a triangular shape so holding a second reflector right up to the unit won't allow proper focus. The reflector needs to be some distance away to reflect the transmitted light back into the receiver.

Since the beam is infrared you can't see it with your eye, however you can see it with a cell phone camera. Use a cell phone or other digital camera to make sure the ball detect is transmitting a beam out. This will look like a light on your camera screen.

If the led is bad then you won't pick up a light on the cell phone camera. Since the light has to be present on the receiver, if it's not working then the indicator lights will stay on all the time.

If you are getting an infrared light showing up on your phone camera, then I would follow the alignment procedures in the book. If you don't have any luck there, then I would consider swapping the ball detect and the data processing module with known good units and make sure your questionable ones work on other lanes.

Comment