PDA

View Full Version : vdb to lcd conversion



JerryL
02-20-2009, 09:28 AM
I have qubica conqueror scoring and 1 had two monitors for my 8 lane center go down last night. A power surge fried a vdb, camera board, 6 box, and 2 tv monitor boards. I had replacements for everything but the tv boards. Is there any way other than QAMF's converter box ($4000.) to convert vdb93/98 signal to a tv signal for an lcd?

Jerry
Southwestern Lanes

mr.badwrench
02-20-2009, 09:51 AM
http://www.bowltech.com/forums/showthread.php?21393&p=224592#post224592
http://www.bowltech.com/forums/showthread.php?21393&p=224592#post224592

Here are some possibilities. If you find something that works please post it.

JerryL
02-20-2009, 03:41 PM
I have seen similar posts, some date back a couple of years. Has no one figured this out or are not allowed to tell? I know I don't have the technical expertise to figure this out, I am looking for a low cost plug and play solution. The thought of spending $4000 for an upgrade kit from QAMF in todays economy p***es me off. QAMF says my vdb is to old to support an lcd direct plug and play and to upgrade it is $3500. Is the technology that expensive or proprietary, or are we paying for the QAMF name?

nielsmolenaar1983
02-21-2009, 03:00 PM
do you have scart on your LCD or is that only in europa I have vdb 99i with LCD SamSung only with an cable no converter I have made the cable my self

bpm
02-23-2009, 03:21 AM
Niels,

can you tell us the exact model nbr of your used Samsungs?

Thanks,

Bpm

nielsmolenaar1983
02-25-2009, 10:43 AM
Hey BPM,

it is the SamSung LE32A436
I have 20 of them working perfect and 2 spare of them just for sure they are running nou for 1,5years

gr niels

bpm
02-26-2009, 03:13 AM
Thanks Niels,

bpm

Megatech
03-04-2009, 06:31 PM
Could this be what you are looking for?

http://www.maximumtechnology.nl/GB/scoring.html#monitoren

mr.badwrench
03-04-2009, 07:17 PM
Looks like it might work but most of us are hoping for a cheap cable or converter so we can just buy TVs at Kmart to replace scoring monitors.

nielsmolenaar1983
03-05-2009, 02:25 AM
The cable i made is 3 euros

snopro2
03-28-2009, 08:49 PM
Who in the US sells this???

Megatech
03-29-2009, 11:21 AM
No distributor in the US yet.

djack
04-03-2009, 04:04 PM
D&J marketing sells a conversion box for Qubica, they are based out of Michigan the box sells for 799 per lane pair. There web site is www.evolutionscoring.com (http://www.evolutionscoring.com)

snopro2
04-03-2009, 07:46 PM
djack: What is included for the $799.00 per pair???

RepC
04-28-2009, 09:19 AM
You can use Fenice LCD (http://www.fenice-srl.it). They accept VDB signal without any converter.

TOM_ZERNIA
04-30-2009, 11:37 AM
RepC: Who is the soruce in th US

RepC
05-04-2009, 12:12 PM
I don't know. You can ask directly to Fenice headquarters

Woody
05-04-2009, 11:27 PM
OK according to the BES Manual the RGB plug has only 5 wires inside the plug.

.....
....

Numbered from right to left top to bottom.

1. N/A
2. N/A
3. N/A
4. Y
5. N/A
6. Blue
7. Green
8. RED
9. GND

Looking into this I have found a guy who builds converters for arcade games to display on regular USA NTSC.

http://jrok.com/hardware/RGB.html

Now I E-mailed him and he said you can wire the rgb cable to the converter if we know what 4 pin "Y" is.

If it is a negative video sync output it will work.

KnutM
05-29-2009, 03:01 AM
Hello i'm Chris from a German Bowling Center,
and i search for an Converter from VDB99 Bowland Signal to European Sacrt or VGA for LCD TV or Monitor. Did anyone try this
"http://jrok.com/hardware/RGB.html" or this @ Ebay "Arcade RGBS CGA/EGA/YUV TO 2 VGA CONVERTER" Could one of these things work for me ?

@nielsmolenaar1983 did you onla have this samsung LCD TV with no converter ?
Thanks for Reply

bpm
06-09-2009, 07:36 AM
Hey BPM,

it is the SamSung LE32A436
I have 20 of them working perfect and 2 spare of them just for sure they are running nou for 1,5years

gr niels

Hi Niels,

are you sure everything is displayed, even with 7 or more players?

Did some testing on another Samsung and we lost the top of the image ( frame numbers on top of image ) when 7 or more players were displayed.

Thanks,

bpm

nielsmolenaar1983
06-12-2009, 11:59 AM
hey BPM,

yes the only thing is that the frame numbers by 7 or more players are not displayed but it is only on some score sheets if you know what i mean

and the scrole bar works also.
And BPM the cost of an converter is ???? and my cable is 5 euro's to bad for the frame numbers aren't displayed if you know what i mean

and CHRIS yes i don't use a converter for the vdb and i have the same VDB's

gr niels

rctech
10-01-2009, 12:55 PM
Hi,
I have an idea on why this is such a tough nut to crack for some people. Those of us in the states use a NTSC video sync system, whereas you-all with the sucesses, are using an EU standard (Secam or PAL?). Since the Qubica vdbs are from Italy, a frequency transcoding needs to happen for us in the other hemisphere. The simple ebay stuff just won't cut it.

I want to try a few things here by myself to see if it works first. I dont want to get anyone's hopes up too high yet.

Could you please help me out by giving me a pinout wiring, for the cable you made (for 3 euros :-), as referenced in your 03/05/09 post? I assume it is a DB9-pin to Scart adapter?

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

rich

mr.badwrench
10-01-2009, 07:46 PM
Woody gave the pinout of the VDB on page 2 of this thread.

http://74.125.93.132/search?q=cache:JdGt...=clnk&gl=us (http://74.125.93.132/search?q=cache:JdGth4dcI_YJ:www.inlineinc.com/products/sigproc/pdf/IN1401.pdf+rgb+horizontal+scan+rate&cd=1&hl=en&ct= clnk&gl=us)

Here's the drama. VDB 93 and 96 apparently put out RGB video at a 15khz horizontal scan rate. It appears that VDB 99 and newer put out video with a more modern spec and faster horizontal scan rate. Depending on the technology used, some LCD TVs may accept the 15 khz rate and may or may not show this in their specs.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=37141
It appears SCART is also about a 15 khz horizontal scan rate.

rctech
10-02-2009, 10:16 AM
Thanks for the additional info,
I know the pinout of the vdb. But, I would like to double check the vdb to scart cable actual pinout wiring, that is known to work for certain monitors. r,g,b is easy, but im more interested in the ground & sync stuff. Then hopefully i'll develop and post a cheaper ultimate conversion to NTSC composite, HDMI, or Component output.
Thanks for the help.

rich

Ted
10-02-2009, 03:01 PM
SCART is:
7 blue
11 green
15 red
10 v sync
12 horiz sync
5,9,13,18 and 21 Ground

Comp_u_Geek
10-04-2009, 01:54 PM
http://www.ambery.com/rgbcgatovgac.html

Check out this box, i have been looking to get this and try it.

rctech
10-07-2009, 05:42 PM
Thanks,
The vdb pinout and scart pinout are well known and documented. I am looking for the wiring diagram from end-to-end, pin to pin(s), of a *KNOWN WORKING* interface cable. Not just an assumtion of what may work. Thanks for any additional help.

rich

rctech
10-07-2009, 05:47 PM
Don't bother with this one. I've tried it (different vendor, but one that looks exactly the same, specs and all) and it doesnt work. It does not do any transcoding between video formats (e.g. NTSC to PAL).

thanks for your advice.

rich

Ted
10-07-2009, 06:42 PM
Today, I took a LCD monitor and plugged it into the VDB output, powered it up and viola!
It is for a lower console monitor, the RGB connector was a straight plug from the monitor board connector with no modification, the power supply will be plugged into the monitor power by changing it to a regular extension cord end.
Only one problem. The lower console will require modification to have the LCD monitor fit as it's a 15"

rctech
10-07-2009, 09:04 PM
What kind (brand & model) of LCD monitor is that? The vdb output is a nonstandard (not cga,ega) DB9 connector. I'm not aware of a standard LCD monitor with a DB9 input.

I am sorry, but I do not understand the term "lower console monitor".

Thanks for any clarification!
rich

mr.badwrench
10-07-2009, 11:13 PM
I am sorry, but I do not understand the term "lower console monitor".
It's a small monitor mounted with the keypads on the bowlers console.
http://www.amfkorea.com/english/products/images/2_4_08.gif
From here.
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=h...%3Doff%26sa%3DG (http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.amfkorea.com/english/products/images/2_4_08.gif&imgrefurl=http://www.amfkorea.com/english/products/sub3.php&usg=__3ekDemjCvtokjnYdp_sb65S_EKU=&h=155& w=195&sz=14&hl=en&start=1&tbnid=Qq5wRjrz1U3cVM:&tb nh=83&tbnw=104&prev=/images%3Fq%3DQubica%2Bmonitor%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den% 26safe%3Doff%26sa%3DG)
This is from a partnership between Qubica and Via I hadn't heard about.

The vdb output is a nonstandard (not cga,ega) DB9 connector.
I showed the VDB pinout to the tech that services our video games and he said they are RGB. He said when he upgrades an arade video game he installs a proprietary LCD screen that will fit in the housing and a proprietary converter box that costs several hundred dollars.

Ted
10-08-2009, 10:22 AM
The one I have has a CGA input that auto detects for frequency and polarity. It's $375. No converter. Just a slight position adjustment with buttons to center it in the opening.
Since I had it in the car, I also hooked it up to an AMF low boy and it workd fine there as well.

wrenchturner
04-02-2010, 01:59 PM
http://www.wellsgardner.com/products/details.asp?iCat=2&iSubCat=47

i have put 6 of them in last year and will install 18 of them this year (if the boss lets me http://www.bowltech.com/forums/import/graemlinspre2012/smile.gif ) we are using vdb98 if i remember right. its just to expensive to get the boards re-built from amf i can install a brand new monitor for 375$ with a 1 year warranty vs 90 days for the amf boards. the reason this monitor works with out using converters it scans horizontal frequencies from 15.75 kHz up to 38 kHz (CGA, EGA, VGA, SVGA) and locks in the required frequency. the only hard part is to separate the plug that goes in to the old board to move the ground. switch a jumper on the sync board and done.some one mentioned on the pin gout the pin 4 "Y" this is where the biggest problem is if you are trying to use regular US made Tvs/ LCDs ,i do not remember off hand who uses what but, one uses a positive sync signal where the other uses a negative sync signal.my next step will be to re pin a d9 to go from the vdb to the board on the new monitor so i don't have to take the old in line plug apart. i will post pics of how i installed them as soon as i remember to bring in my camera.

Ghostknife
08-26-2010, 06:33 PM
Hi,
I have recently been asked to help a friend out in putting LCD monitors in his bowling center. I have been looking into it and stumbled across this form. I would just like to confirm a few things before i attempt to fit up an LCD TV. The center uses VDB 96 boxes... and according to earlier posts in this thread that means it outputs a 15kHz Scan rate. Thus meaning I have to use converter boxes from AMF or the likes.... OR use a LCD monitor that will accept a 15kHz scan rate. Is anyone on here able to confirm for me that they have successfully connected a LCD ( 15kHz compatible ) TV to a VDB 96 with no converter ?? I have also noted that the VDB 96 has 20VDC on one of the pins of the DB9 connector... this was not mentioned in the pinout on page 2 of this post. Am i correct in assuming that the AMF converter box uses this 20VDC for power as it does not require an external power supply ? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ted
08-26-2010, 06:40 PM
The only monitor I have hooked to both AMF and Qubica scoring, without a converter to up-convert the horizontal frequency, is the HAPP lcd. They have 15", 26-7" and 40".
Here is a link to the post.
http://www.bowltech.com/forums/showthread.php?38690&p=383651#post383651
They are available directly from Suzo Happ.
The monitor page: http://www.happcontrols.com/monitors/monitors.htm