Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distributor question

Hey all

I'm a fairly new tech and came across this (in pic) recently, and was confused as to why another tech may have done this, and whether this is a regular practice. In particular I mean the stretching of the linesr motion spring.

Cheers
    Attached Files

Probably to get the telescoping arm to move forward as soon as possible to make up for bent carriage tubes or bad rollers.(Or just basic bad adjustments. etc etc)

Comment

Originally posted by CHCHtech View Post
      Hey all

I'm a fairly new tech and came across this (in pic) recently, and was confused as to why another tech may have done this, and whether this is a regular practice. In particular I mean the stretching of the linesr motion spring.

Cheers
      That's a common "quick fix" for people who either don't understand how the distributor actually works, or didn't want to take the time to really dig into the problem. I've got a few of them like that at my center and it's exactly for that reason.

Odds are that spring is now worthless because some of the coils have been permanently stretched (you can see it to the right of where someone put a wire tie on a few coils in front of the nylon index cam). The spring is actually weaker now than it was before being stretched like that.

There are a lot of reasons why the carriage is sluggish extending from the #9 bin to the #1 bin (and #8 to #5)..

-- The tubes on the carriage get wear spots in several places on them. Either tube can stick on the guide rollers at these points. Only fix is to replace the tubes or switch them to run on the opposite side.
      -- The tubes and/or guide rollers are covered in crud. This prevents the carriage from moving freely on the guide rollers. They should always be kept clean regularly. I use a rag with a light amount of WD40 on it.