Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sweep linkage hitting frame

I have one machine (LN 4 - AMF 82-70XL w/ a 90XL chassis) with a sweep that likes to kiss the frame right near the the mount on the kickback. It's on the 10 side and I've done all I know to do to try and get the troublesome bolt off the frame. I'm fairly new at AMF equipment as I've only been with these machines for only about a year. (So obviously I don't know much) I've went through the manual and couldn't find anything regarding this particular problem. And even if I had found something, I wouldn't put much faith in it since the last time I used the book, the book was dead wrong. Anyways, got any ideas before I start ripping out the entire sweep assembly and just "winging it"? [img]/content/btubb/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif[/img]

BTW... it's been doing this for quite some time now (abt 2 years I believe) and has worn a nice little gash in the frame where it hits.
    Duct tape and cable ties = a solution to all your woes!

Re: Sweep linkage hitting frame

Take the bolt out of the telescopic link.......reinstall with a washer on the bolt on the side next to the pindeck.....make sure the end of the bolt makes it through the stover nut.

This should solve your problem.

Jerry

PS....make sure they have the correct bolt in the assy.

Comment

Thanks... I'll do that when I get to work tonight. Like I said, I'm new to AMF equipment and the tech at our "sister-center" hasn't taught me much of anything really. I'm more accustomed to A2's than 8270XL's. But I will admit, these AMF machines are a lot easier to work with.

Comment

Try loosening the U bolts that mount the sweep drive link to the frame. With a stick or pry bar, move the drive link away from the frame and tighten the nuts while holding it with the stick. You don't want to move it very far or you will have interference problems with the sweep rocker arm linkage.

Roger

Comment