Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Combo-test box

Hi all Im not good at electronics so I was wondering if you FINE people here can help me. I would like to make a test box for combo motors..
    mainly for 82-70 nationals... Ive read the book but I'll be damned if I can understand it..this is what I would like in the box...on/off switch..reverse(for sweep reverse) fuse...and run switch....Im just a lonely b-mechnic learning so any help would be great..
    thanks
    BTW read my post in the 82-70 section..it was supposed to be in this forum ..but I mis posted..
    I know I know..30's but why? Cause My hand got stuck in the 70s shuttle once and it hurt...NEver again NEVER

Re: Combo-test box

We have one... it uses a control box from a shur-pik for the housing (with the plus of having a fuse already built into it). You will need a set of start caps, a chassis contactor, a 24-volt AC transformer (a doorbell xfmr, or the original one from a shurpik box / foul light chassis), a spring-back switch to start/stop the motor(like a sweep reverse switch), and a heavy duty DPDT standard switch to control motor direction... some heavy extension-cord wire, a 3-prong standard plug, and the pigtail from a sweep motor (complete w/ motor plug). You can use a front plate from a gearbox as a mounting for the motor during testing (needs to be held in place against the torque... if not, it'll roll off the bench when it starts.

I'll have to see if I can come up with a wiring diagram... I know the parts, but I 'inherited' it, and didn't build it.

For a much easier solution than the pain in the butt above: