Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help!

Hey guys...
    I've been reading posts on this board for a few months now, and have been impressed at the level of expertise from many of you. Take a look at the situation I'm facing, and any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.
    I've been a C mechanic in a house with 40 82-70s for roughly 5 months now. I work only part-time in this capacity- my "day job" is with the parts/service department of an industrial truck (forklift) company. I generally turn around 20 hours or so on the pinspotters, in the evenings.
    Until just now, that is. As of Friday the 18th of April, we simultaneously lost our Head Mechanic/Facilities manager, and our two B mechanics. (From these designations I'm certain you can correctly guess which major chain I work for.)
    This sudden major turnover leaves me as the only remaining mechanic, with two recently hired trainees I'm struggling to get up to speed simply to handle the basic calls, oiling, maintenance, etc. In time, of course, the situation will improve as they (and I) gain experience, but for the time being I'm getting a lot thrust on me in terms of workload and responsibility.
    I'm posting here mainly, I suppose, to introduce myself and ask for your help in some of the more major repairs or problems I will inevitably face very soon. For instance, just last night when I went to clear a ball return, I found the cause to be that the carpet on 17 was turning up at the exit, torn, and fraying badly; obviously we're gonna have to pull the pit and replace this carpet very soon. <groan>