Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "A" Mechanic certification

I am currently an assistant mechanic in a 40 lane center, and have been for approximately 5 years. I have been instructed on everything on the 82-70, but now I am just curious how I go about getting my "A" certification. I am afraid to talk to my center manager about it, because I don't want him to think that I am looking for a new job just yet. I just want to have my options open. Any information wold be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: "A" Mechanic certification

There are classes held by several companies for getting trained on the machines... most of the time, the 'A' mech is just a pinchaser that liked the machines, and worked his way up through the ranks to the head mechanic's spot. You'll probably find that a lot of the 'A' mechs on here don't really have an official 'certification'... they just know the equipment, take charge, and ge the job done.
    <span style="font-style: italic">Educatio est omnium efficacissima forma rebellionis</span>

Comment

G-Man has it right. If you have been there for 5 years and want to spread your wings then by all means start looking around. The industry needs good solid mechanics that love the equipment.

Comment

Please list all qualifications here and/or email them to me......I will determine if you are worthy.

[img]/content/btubb/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]

Jerry

Comment

Go with Kings idea he really does know everything.

You seem to have the right screen name for a head mech. [img]/content/btubb/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]

Comment

Tell it like it is KING! Tell it like it is.

Comment

Some of us just inherited the "A" mechanic title because we care. Stick it out, A good 82-70 mech is hard to come by.
              Help me!!! My 70's have me by the nuts.

Comment

Don't get hung up on the word "Certified"..