Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pin gate latch-an easier way

I am a newcommer and would like to share this with anyone who is interested.
    This concerns the pin gate latch. As you know you have to do just about everything but stand on your head to get that little x-washer of the pin. Well there is an easier way. Once you get off, get rid of it (its usually worn on the ends anyway), replace it with a 5/16-18x3½ bolt (PN 11-001278) and a 5/16 locknut (11-170009).
    Tighen the nut so that it will hold the latch tight. Then pull the latch to the top and back off the nut just enough to allow the latch to fall freely. I have been doing this for last 10 years and it sure makes it easier the next time around.
    PJ
    p.s. Don't forget to pull your belt back down again!
    I'm going fishing and camping!

Re: Pin gate latch-an easier way

been taking the x washer off for years at 270 and use a good light and a pair if regular pliers and push the pin over and clamp onto the x washer and lift the belt up of course.and if pin is frozen in the cross conveyet drill a hole by the microswitch and insert a pin punch and drive it out may haveta heat it in a lack of PMS.perventative Maintenance Schedule,And the Bolt will work good if the holes on CC are Oblonged out.

------------------

Comment

Hi Jim, I use the 270 also but if you have the bolt in place allready you can even change it during league (5 min delay) provided you have an extra latch, and you dont even have to drop the deck! PJ
      I'm going fishing and camping!

Comment

NICE POST PJ. I'LL TRY IT.

Comment

hey guys,
          i can't stand that pin so what i do is when i change the latch or pull it out for whatever reason i install a hitch pin on the microswitch side so all thats involved in removing it is simply pull it with a pair of pliers, much easier than the x-washer and you can still use the original pin, provided it isn't worn.
          hope this helps,