TOTY

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• deck cable

I'm just learning to be a mechanic and although everything is pretty easy there are a few things that are a little difficult.

When a deck cable slips off, does the back pulleys have to be in any certain position to put the cable back on?

Thanks for any input!

Re: deck cable

advance the machine to 270 degrees (setting pins,Deck will be all the way down(about 1 inch off the Pindeck) and rake all the way forward. this will have the least tension on the moving deck cables.If the cable is off on the rear pulley you will be able to get to the cable from the pit.You should unhook the Keeper spring (left side) and then I would recommend using a rag as the cable may be frayed and will cut you,pull the cable towards you (you should be in the flat gutter facing the deck, and place the cable to the left of the deck. Then go to the rear(pit area)and you should be able to get to the rear pulley and replace the cable.
    Hope this helps

Comment

The easiest way to put a cable on is to put mach. at 270 degrees, deck down spotting new pins, rake will be forward. Put the next mach. in the same position & check the good mach. with the one you are having trouble with.
      Check for frayed cables and check moving deck adjustment maybe deck is shifting too far back so cable will be loose. This adjusment is in your service manuel pg 3-24.
      good luck.

Comment