Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computerised fault monitoring / logging

G'day from the land down under.
    I'm a part-time tech, part-time customer service, and part-time university student studying electrical engineering.
    Just for background, we run As with a few modifications (ZOT electronic triggering, single rake lift cam).
    To complete my engineering degree, I have to undertake a major project, and am planning to design/implement a computerised fault monitoring & logging system for the pinsetters. I'm just after any comments or suggestions, for or against.

I know Brunswick have a simple system associated with an electronic time delay module for A2, and there may be others, but I have to do a project, and it may as well be this, and I intend to make it do a bit more than brunswick's single digit error code.

The scheme would involve monitoring the 24v circuit at all switches/fuses etc, as well as a few additional micros to detect other faults (eg rake down too long, ie 180 or OOR). May also monitor trigger output from zot electronics, and the bowler's trouble button.
    A display unit between each pair would show a status message, rather than just a single digit. It would then trigger the trouble bell.
    Each pair would have a separate device, and all would be linked to a display in the workshop, which would just show a lamp for the machine with the problem.
    The workshop unit would also provide an interface to a computer which would again display fault messages, with space for the mechanic to make notes. All faults and mechanics notes would be logged with time/date, and archived. The program would allow the mechanic to search the history for a particular machine or particular fault type.