Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ball Wheel

Had an interesting problem today, the ball wheel came apart at the seam. There is a small commpresion clamp on the inside of the seem and the weld broke free to a 2" gap in my wheel. I forunately had an extra and it was a half a days work just to change one out as I have never done or seen this happen before. Has anyone else had this happen or is there some way to do a stress test on it? It looks to be pretty easy to weld back but it was a first for me. All the upper and lower ball wheel guide rollers are fine or at least they were before this happened and the lift rods are adjusted to the tee. I posted a picture of the inside of the ball wheel in the gallery if anyone is interested.
    Let me know if you have a clue as to why this might have happened, even though they are converted A2's built in 1961.

thanks
    Drill

[ January 31, 2002: Message edited by: Drillmn300 ]
    Drill

David Bolt
    Champaign, IL
    USBC Silver Coach
    IBPSIA BOD
    IBPSIA Advanced
    Technical Certified
    Pro Shops

Re: Ball Wheel

Welcome to the club. My house has 16 converted A2s and 8 Jap A2s. Had a ball wheel break close to a year ago. Had a guy come in and weld it, but it only lasted about 6 months.....Had a different guy come in and weld it again so we shall see how long this one lasts. We did the welding while the ball wheel remained in the pinsetter. Thought that it would make the job easier than taking one out. Our converted A2s were made in 1960. I think I would be safe to assume that being made in 1960 and 1961 (yours) would be the reason why they broke. They are old!!! HA.

Here is an old thread about the same problem. Enjoy!!

....rob

Ball Wheel Thread....Click Here!
    Space is the Place!

Comment

Yup..Been there.