Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worm Shaft

Hello: I'm a mechanic at a 16 lane A-2 center with scotch yokes. I have a question about worm shafts. I have never removed 1, I don't have any bad right now, I was just wondering for the future. Is there an easy or fast way to take 1 out, if so do I need any special tools to do so ?

Thanks wags
    Wags

Re: Worm Shaft

There are two tools that make the job lots easier, a small spanner-style wrench for the spring seat retaining nut, and a spline wrench to hold the worm shaft stable when you're removing the nut.

Safest way to remove worm is with machine down at 270, setting new pins. I say this because when you remove the worm, the machine can jump unless the weight of the deck is fully down, and the 2/1 keeps the machine from going anywhere.

Pull power and remove all clutch parts. The retaining nut is now visible, usually there's one tang of the lockwasher bent over holding it in which must be punched clear. Use the spanner and spline wrench to remove the nut and spring seat. Undo the 4 allens that hold the worm retaining plate to the gearbox and remove it and the oil seal components. You should now be able to turn the worm in reverse to back it out of the gearbox. If it's stubborn, i usually climb on top of the machine and step down on the 4/1 crank with my foot, that will pop even the most stubborn ones free:

Kevin

Comment

Also..