Adsense Classic 1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LCARS

For those of you that like Star Trek TNG, Voyager, sci-fi in general or are on a mission from the future, under cover and are following the temporal prime directive, you would probably already know what LCARS stands for; for those of you that don't, LCARS stands for Library Computer Access/Retrieval System. Up until about a year ago I hadn't given the idea of mimicking the LCARS a second thought until I started to get more involved with MS Access. The simplicity of the layout and general appeal of the futuristic nature of the system motivated me to do my best to recreate its look using Access.

I'll be the first to admit I'm NOT a programmer, nor do I intend to be, so although the pictures don't show any VBA, know that if you are a programmer and did look at it you'd shake your head...lol. Access doesn't make customization at this level easy; in fact, there are probably other, more efficient ways to achieve the same results using flash or something else that could be enabled in Access, but for me this was the upper limit of my knowledge and experience.

The purpose was to build a functional, controlled and user friendly GUI for the back end staff to use with an aesthetically modern look that would be unique. It is in its infancy and is by no means complete or bug free. An example is the call data; because I'm at the ass end of the world, our date format is "dd/mm/yyyy". Access doesn't always appreciate date entry's being formatted in ways other than "mm/dd/yyyy" or "yyyy/mm/dd". So it's often overlooked and becomes necessary to format the date entry's to those that Access doesn't have a problem with. It's a problem that's easily solved, so when I have the time I'll fix it up, but for now, here are some photo's of day two in operation...

The information in the call data isn't correct. The code logic is wrong so the FPS and linage is off.

Trouble call category selection.